Month: March 2019

Canadian Dr. Donna Strickland wins Nobel Prize in Physics

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced that the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”, with one half to Arthur Ashkin (US) and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou (France) and Donna Strickland (U.Waterloo, Canada). Dr. Ashkin is recognized for his development of… Read more »